top of page

Making a Pokemon Game (Pt. 1)

Hello, and welcome to the first post of a series I am making. In this first post, I am going to be designing the starters for a fan region I am making that is based on California.


The first step is getting the inspiration for each of the starters. Grass types are usually based on a native reptile in the area, so the first thing to do is to look up some reptiles native to California. I decided to either do a California King Snake, or a Jackson's Chameleon. I decided to go with the Jackson's Chameleon, as it felt more suited for a grass type.

- Credit to Inaturalist.org


Water type starters are normally based on an animal and a weapon. I already had a few ideas based on some of the animals in my neighborhood, such as a leopard shark, great egret, or bat ray. I couldn't think of a weapon to fuse with the shark or the ray, but I got the perfect idea for a Great Egret. Since the great egret hunts by quickly jabbing its prey with its beak, my idea was or it to be combined with a spear.

For the fire type, I just decided to do whatever animal fit, as the Chinese zodiac theory wasn't 100% believable. I decided to make it either a fish or a mammal, since I already made a bird and a lizard. I decided to make it black bear, since it's LITERALLY ON THE FLAG. Its also a mammal.


Comments


bottom of page